Myra Jarenga

Myra Jarenga

My software engineering Journey

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Hello! my name is Myra Jarenga and I am a Software developer student at Holberton School under ALX Africa. I have always loved technology since I was a child. I joined the university and graduated with a Diploma in Information technology Administration management in 2014 from Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) in Kenya. I never got a chance to put my knowledge into practice and so I did work in the hospitality industry as a customer service manager and gained more experience in the service industry for 7 years . In the year 2022, I happened to come across ALX Software Engineering program on social media I knew I wanted to do this program in order to enhance my knowledge in the technology sector, my goal is to gain more knowledge and venture into (Artificial intelligence) AI and machine learning someday and help the world solve problems through technology.

I am now 7 months into the program and the amount of knowledge and coding experience I have had is the best. Started with learning how to use the shell and navigate on it, use different types of editors like vim and emacs, how to use technological content professionally by bookmarking resources used often. Learned Git and Github, then started learning to code in diffrent programming languages, first was C then python. At ALX we also learn system engineering DevOps on our curriculum and its is for sure the best, so if you who would like to be a DevOps engineer it is possible this provides the basics and how to get into DevOps. When I joined I just knew I wanted to be a software engineer but now I have several aptions according to my interests. I can be a backend software developer, frontend developer , a DevOps engineer as well.

The journey is amazing and I love this new knowledge experience and even connecting with my fellow students on different platforms as we help one another go about our projects and learn from one another. Its sure has been the best experience. Follow me on GitHub github.com/myrajarenga in order to get a glimpse of the projects I have been working on I am also going to be updating my progress every time I learn a new concept as well as teaching the concepts I have been laerning so far through technical writing. Join me as we learn together. Follow me on this blog and on LinkedIn linkedin.com/in/myra-jarenga-ba6b129b as we grow together.

If you would like a chat me you can send DM to me on twitter Myra Jarenga

Thank you.